Starkle Dream Up. Stephens College
« Back to Sc-Scene Archive

Six Stars earn Daktronics-NAIA Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete recognition

December 7, 2015

By Adam Samson/Sports Information Director

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced that 588 recipients were named 2015 Daktronics-NAIA Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athletes. Stephens College was well-represented on the list with seniors Rose Baka, Anna Martin, Bridget Teixeira, Sarah Vitel and Dani Wilson, and junior Sammy Dorman receiving the award.

The Stars and Freed-Hardeman University led the American Midwest Conference with six student-athletes apiece.

Anna Martin, who earned 2015 CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team honors, and Dani Wilson, are two-time winners of the Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete award. The entire group listed below, also received AMC Academic All-Conference recognition last month:

Rose Baka – Biology – 3.66
Sammy Dorman – Graphic Design Communications – 3.85
Anna Martin – Strategic Communications (Graphic Design) – 3.73
Bridget Teixeira – Psychology – 3.56
Sarah Vitel – Fashion Communication – 3.78
Dani Wilson – Fashion Design & Product Development – 3.62

On the field, the Stars finished the year at 6-11-1, which was a new program-best. The team, which won its first-ever AMC match in a 2-1 victory over St. Louis College of Pharmacy, also set several single-season individual and team records on both offense and defense.

The Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete programs recognize excellence in the classroom by NAIA-member student-athletes who are juniors or above in academic standing with a 3.5 cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scale. In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student must appear on the eligibility certificate for two full years as a non-transfer or one full year as a transfer. Goshen College in Indiana led all programs with 14 individuals on the list.

Most computers will open PDF documents automatically, but you may need to download Adobe Reader.