Starkle Dream Up. Stephens College
« Back to Sc-Scene Archive

Stephens honors faculty, students at Convocation

April 9, 2014


Assistant Professor Kate Gray receives the Dr. Michael Bowling Distinguished Advising Award.


Lita Pistono receives the Stephens Star Award.

Assistant Professors Kate Gray and Tina Marks were honored for distinguished service in their respective departments during the annual Honors Convocation ceremony on Monday in the Kimball Ballroom.
Gray received the Dr. Michael Bowling Distinguished Advising Award, and Marks received the Distinguished Teaching Award. Honors Convocation recognizes students, faculty and staff for outstanding contributions to campus and individual schools.
Gray is an assistant professor of graphic design in the School of Organizational Leadership and Strategic Communication. Prior to coming to Stephens, she enjoyed a lengthy career in design that included owning her own award-winning firm.
Marks is an assistant professor in the School of Fashion and Design. Prior to coming to Stephens, she ran her own jewelry design business and owned an antique clothing and jewelry store in Hermann.
Lita Pistono, administrative assistant to the Vice President of Academic Affairs, also was honored during the ceremony with the Stephens Star Award, bestowed by the student body on a staff member who contributes to student success.

Senior Michelle Niewald, an integrated marketing student, took the top student award, receiving the Stephens Student Leadership Award.
Following is a complete list of award recipients.
School of Fashion and Design Award for Academic Excellence (3.8 GPA or higher)FashionRachel BallewTaylor BarberOletha CrutcherNicole GagneKayla GibsonPaula GoldenbergCaley GustafsonHillary HenryZoe KorklanAllison LangleyAbreale LoveallKathryn McCarthyMonica NakamatsuJennifer NiewaldEmily ParkCourtney ParmenterMargaret ReasbeckKatherine RudderKathryn SingerVictoria VitaleEmily Wagner-DavisInterior DesignJessica Grenke
School of Humanities & SciencesEnglish/Creative WritingClark/Dillingham Critical Essay Award      Taylor WetzelOutstanding Seniors in English and Creative Writing      Alexi Scharbach, Chelsea Wherry First Year Essay Award        Gabrielle ZajacLegal StudiesAward of Excellence Jennifer Hrebar-IhlerNatural SciencesBiology Underclass Peer Award      Dana HeggemannBiology Upperclass Peer Award      Dina KaissiOutstanding Underclass Biology Student Award Dana HeggemannOutstanding Upperclass Biology Student Award  Rachel LightfootOutstanding Physical Science Student Award       Dina KaissiPsychologyOutstanding Contribution to Psychology   Jennifer Hrebar-IhlerOutstanding Junior Academic Achievement in Psychology          Emily MendozaOutstanding Senior Academic Achievement in Psychology          Erica Bonnot

SCHOOL OF INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDIESDigital FilmmakingCitizen Jane Award   Emily ColletteEducationDistinguished Education Major       Dawnavyn James
Promising Education Major Stephanie TaylorOutstanding Contribution to the Laboratory School         Jennifer Griffin, Shelby HardtEquestrian Business Management/Equestrian ScienceEquestrian Outstanding Senior       Lauren FitzpatrickPromising Equestrian Major            Ashley Noltkamper, Margaret Sheldon

Outstanding Contributions to Equestrian Department    Shelby McCoyEquestrian Academic High Honors Award Hannah Dritt, Megan HasemannEquestrian Leadership Award        Erin Cummings, Rachel Cummings, Nicklette Ball
Outstanding Business Student        Michaela DanielsOutstanding Event & Convention Management Student Stephanie McHenryOutstanding Strategic Communication:
Integrated Marketing Student        Michelle NiewaldOutstanding Strategic Communication: Design Student  Gabrielle Martino
SCHOOL OF PERFORMING ARTSDanceOutstanding First Year Dance StudentShandrea-Charity  McNeal-WhiteOutstanding Second Year Dance Students                         Carrie Collins-Whitfield, Kyla RanneyThe Dance Leadership Award                                                  Hannah Massey, Kramer PruittThe Heart of a Dancer Award                                                    Tiara SaddlerOutstanding Artistic Achievement in Choreography
for Excellence in the 2014 Senior Project Concert                  Samantha BennettLeeAnn DavisJordan JacksonSamari Jackson-PrestonElizabeth LamontagneKramer PruittStephanie ReynoldsTheatreSara Ann Fay Award                                                                       Pauline “Polly” MytingerOutstanding Technical Student Award                                Halea CoulterSpirit Award                                                                                       Katie Pautler
Resident Life AwardsMary Omer AwardsOutstanding Resident Assistant                                          Maile Wortham          Outstanding Resident Director        Emily Wagner-Davis
Alumnae Association Scholarship AwardsFreshman Scholarship Award         Juliana HitchcockSophomore Scholarship Award       Khyneesa EdwardsJunior Scholarship Award    Sara BarnettSenior Scholarship Award    Patrika Brown
Other AwardsH.E. Wilkerson Award
For Outstanding Service to Stephens College AdmissionsKathy VogtDorothy Martin Endowed Scholarship       Kathy NguyenJames M. Shirky Endowed Scholarship      Emily MendozaCentury Candle Award         Courtney CothrenMortar Board Book Scholarship      Melanie Bosely
Mortar Board New Members 2014-15Rachel Ballew  Sara Barnett  Nicole Bartels  Melanie Bosley  Cordy Brannan  Michaela Daniels  Hannah Dritt  Jazmin Gac  Alexandria Hagelston  Andrea Jefferies  Fiona Kerr  Rachel Lightfoot  Hannah Massey  Shelby McCoy  Kristen McCurdy  Emily Mendoza  Karina Palencia  Rebecca Saunders  Amy Shank  Cheyenne Smith Carolyn Williams  Danielle Wilson 





Most computers will open PDF documents automatically, but you may need to download Adobe Reader.